AFC Fylde is delighted to announce that Nick Haughton has won the National League North Player of the Year award after a phenomenal 2022/23 season. 

Into his fifth year at Mill Farm, Nick ends a successful 22/23 campaign with the National League Player of the Year award in his clutches. 

Following a goal on the opening day of the season against Kettering Town, there was a sense that there was only one direction Haughton’s year would go once again, with the midfielder finishing the season with 26 goals and 11 assists.

With his 26th helping Adam Murray’s men to a 2-0 win over Bradford (Park Avenue) on the final day to clinch the League title, Haughton puts the icing on the 2022/23 cake as he picks up National League North Player of the Year award.

After adding the League’s POTY award to his trio of Club accolades in the shape of Top Goalscorer, Supporter’s POTY and Player’s POTY, Haughton expressed his delight and said: “It’s an absolutely amazing feeling to win National League North Player of the Year award.

“After sealing promotion on the final day, I’m so happy to have won the award over every single player in this division – It’s a tough old league, and it couldn’t have gone any better for me.

“To score 26 goals and chip in with 11 assists to help the team get over the line feels so good, but I couldn’t have done it without the lads in the dressing room and staff at the Club. 

“I’d also like to add that the lads and I couldn’t have done it without you, our supporters. The way you pushed us each week from the terraces didn’t go unnoticed – it made a huge difference, and we all appreciate it!”

Vanarama National North League Team of the Season

GK – Harry Tyrer (Chester)

RB – Aaron Jones (King’s Lynn Town)
LB – Danny Preston (Alfreton Town)
CB – Alex Whitmore (AFC Fylde)
CB – Josh Coulson (King’s Lynn Town)

CM – Michael Clunan (King’s Lynn Town)
CM – Declan Weeks (Chester)
CM – Nick Haughton (AFC Fylde)

CF – Kurt Willoughby (Chester)
CF – Glen Taylor (Spennymoor Town)
CF – Gold Omotayo (King’s Lynn Town)