AFC Fylde are delighted that Mill Farm will play host to this year’s Hogan Cup Finals Day. 

Youngsters who take part in the Blackpool & District Youth Football League that has been operating for over 70 years, will descend on Mill Farm tomorrow in what promises to be a fantastic day. 

The league started in 1944 and was initially named the Blackpool Association Of Boys Clubs (BABC) and catered for Under 21s only.

The Hogan Cup, named after Education Officer John Hogan, was first played for that year and was won by Palatine ATC.

All teams came from church youth clubs in the Blackpool area with Highfield YC, Tyldesley YC, St Mary’s YC and Claremont being amongst the founder members

In Mid 1960s the league changed its name to the Blackpool Association of Youth Clubs (BAYC) and introduced younger teams of school age children.

In 1976 the league amalgamated with the Sunday adult league and became know as the Blackpool Sunday Football Alliance Youth.

In 1991 the league separated from the adult league and became independent again providing football for the youth ages only. They became Blackpool and District Youth Football League and has remained so up to date.

The league has seen several players go on to play in the professional game, such as Mark Lawrenson, John Hills, Gavin McCann, Jamie Milligan, Mark Halstead, Tom Barkuizhen, Scott Tanser and our very own Matt Blinkhorn!

This year’s finals will see the below sides go head to head from 9am tomorrow morning. Tickets are £5 and £3 for juniors.

Hogan Cup

Fleetwood Town Rangers v Foxhall JFC

Lytham JFC v Foxhall JFC

Squires Gate FC v BJFF Blades

Hogan Plate

FC Rangers v Poulton FC

Thornton Cleveleys Whites v Kirkham Blues